Music; IAMAMIWHOAMI

iamamiwhoami-drops

Do you miss Kate Bush from the 80’s? And are you over Lady Gaga? Than I got the right mix!
IAMAMIWHOAMI
A new sound that take you on a trip, even when I don’t always hear what she is singing (and yes, its all English).

This Swedish electronic music group is not a newcomer. But just discovered (for me at least) another Lady Gaga. Of course we had some Gaga’s in the past like Grace Jones or Roisin Murphy from Moloko. But this one is a bit more gaga, you know cookoo.
In the beginning she did not even tell her name and gave answers as she is from another planet. Her name is Jonna Lee and she is the leadsinger and songwriter of the band.

Her sound can be described as a very electronic innovating sound, a bit of a blast from the past, 80’s influence but at the same time she’s very new and refreshing. I would put it in my collection that includes Jamiroquai, Sade and now Iamamiwhoami that I find perfect for long journeys in my car, it just keeps me going, the music keeps me relaxed and concentrated. Definitely a must have for your car-collection.

iamamiwhoami+kool_PNG iamamiwhoami+++b+png iamamiwhoami

In a real Youtube Music video series called “Kin” and “Bounty” she tells a story that is sometimes a bit confusing, but very artistically presented in a recycling/eco way! All locations are Scandinavian and with re-used materials. Paper houses, empty bottle suit, concrete sexy costume and a Volvo wrapped in folly are the things you see in the 24 video’s. Volvo and Ikea, both very Swedish products keep making their return in her videos something she loves to promote, Swedish products.
It refreshing to see this, but at the same time i wonder what is she trying to tell us, what’s the message?!
 Do i have to see this as art or is there a deeper meaning in the images she is presenting us. I stopped wondering what it was and just admire the creativity thats been displayed, I simply enjoy it.

Her album Bounty is in my playlist and and love closing my eyes and dream away in her world. And when I open my eyes I watch it on youtube again and again. I don’t get bored watching these clips!
Its a shame you don’t have audiovisual videos included when you buy it on iTunes, like the last self-titled album from”BEYONCE”.

I must say in costumes she inspires me a lot. Maybe I should try to make a suit out of longhair Carpet. It looks so freaky and impressive when you move from left to right, just the whole flow of the material is awesome. Anyway… Just check it out for your self..

I give 4 out of 5 stars, because I don’t always hear what she is singing. but the rest is an amazing experience. Real 21st century music that will be timeless in my music collection.

 

Start listening and watch the videos (links down below) and enjoy this crazy musical ride.

 

Cheers,

 

Peto

http://www.youtube.com/user/iamamiwhoami?ob=0&feature=results_main

https://www.facebook.com/pages/iamamiwhoami/270417754335

2 comments

  1. bru

    I didn’t know this band at all and I’m really impressed with their songs and the fact that I found it in here. You have really good taste for music Peto. Thank you very much for sharing these songs.

Leave a Reply

